Project Sapling 2.0

So we did it. This might be all too much information if you’re the squeamish sort. If not, read on for a detailed account of our first attempt at making baby #2.

At our meet up with KD’s family, while everyone was out in the garden, KD snuck off to the bathroom in a sleep out at his mom’s house. Then when he was done, D, J and I swapped places with him. D got down on the bathroom floor, J played with her dog figurines on the toilet seat, and I used a syringe (from children’s tylenol, ha) to draw the sperm out of the Soft Cup. Then I inserted it, depressed the plunger, and inserted the Soft Cup with the dregs of the sperm (well, semen, but the sperm part is kind of the most important).  Then D hung out on the bathroom floor by herself for half an hour, trying to help things along and also replying to some emails. Who knows whether KDs family noticed her absence, or what they thought.

Our timing was not that great, but I think we’ve still got a chance. It Was cycle day eleven. We think D’s been ovulating around day 14, but have just been charting CM and OPKs, so not totally sure, and since it has only been three cycles since her period returned her cycle has been a bit unpredictable). D didn’t have EWCM – it was more watery, with just a tiny bit of stretch. She hasn’t had a positive OPK, but I don’t think she had one when J was conceived, either – so she’s going to keep testing to see if the line gets stronger or more faint. We only have limited phone internet right now, which is a relief because it stops me from relentlessly googling stuff about the chance of conception under various conditions. It doesn’t really matter whether she’s 10% likely or 30% likely, because she’ll either get 100% pregnant or 0% pregnant. Now we just have to wait. While I keep trying to tell myself that whatever happens will be alright, I want so much for this to work. And so I am throwing my whole self into hoping, hoping for a little spark to happen and to grow, grow, grow into a new family member for us.

The other night, while I was staring, awestruck, at the spectacular NZ night sky, I saw a shooting star – not out of the corner of my eye, but exactly where I was looking. And while it seems so hokey to say that it felt like a sign, I did feel as if it was meant for me. A sign, if nothing else, that I was in the right place. And for the last few days, I have felt that – that I am where I should be. It’s a good feeling, and one that I think I’ve been missing for a little while, as we shift from place to place.

I want to write more about meeting KDs family because there’s a lot to say, but I will say that it was a really great experience and I am so glad that we did it.

(Also also – we are off to meet Pepibebe and family today! Woo hoo!)

6 thoughts on “Project Sapling 2.0

  1. Do you mean she was on CD11? Sperm supposedly can live up to 7 days so hopefully a few days will still give you all a chance! When I got pregnant, I put the semen into an Instead Cup and then put that right in and left it for 10 hours. I know we all have our different little ways to do things but that made it easier for me (I was also in the bathroom of a Thai restaurant that was closing so I couldn’t hang out). Crossing fingers for you!

    Like

  2. And what a cool afternoon we had hanging out with our littles 😀 So lovely to finally meet another blogger. That shooting star is a neat omen, our skies sure are beautiful eh? Did you see that moonrise last night? Full moon tonight so it should be spectacular rising. Get Di to put her naked puku out in it and soak up some fecundity!

    Like

Leave a comment